My number this week on the scale was 160.5. Ok, fine. It is really time for me to buckle down, because the truth is, I’m kind of over this mediocrity. It is time for me to act like I’m trying to lose weight. One of the things that is really sticking in my craw is all of the things that I will have to give up:

Pizza
Wine (all alcohol, really)
Fried (fill in the blank)

Don’t get me wrong, I believe in moderation, eventually I can have the slice of pizza or the glass of wine, or the fried chicken. But the way I’m feeling right now, in this moment, I’ll want it all. And not the sensible healthy versions. But instead of focusing on what’s unavailable, I should focus on all of the healthy foods that I can eat, and the ones that I know I can enjoy in moderation:

Concord grapes. When I was a kid, my grandparents used to have grapevine on their farm. When I went to visit in late August before school started up again, I could eat the grapes right off the vine. They’re only available for a short time, and they are worth the price.

Cheese. It wasn’t until I began trying to lose weight that I realized exactly how special cheese is. And it is one of the great things that you don’t need much of to enjoy. A dab of blue cheese, feta, or goat cheese hits the spot. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t do fat free cheese. There is something about the way that fat coats your tongue that makes me feel satisfied.

Garlic.  Because you can smell it before you can even taste it, garlic adds an “interestingness” to your food that reminds me that healthy food does not have to be boring. Onion falls into this category as well.

Kale. Kale is the veggie du jour, and at the ripe old age of 35, eating it is about as close as I’m going to get to being trendy. I prefer my kale sautéed with a little garlic and onion. But since recipes are all over Pinterest I’m sure I’ll come up with several interesting ways to eat it.

Bacon. Like cheese, a little bit of bacon can go a long way. I don’t need 5 slices of bacon to feel like I’m treating myself. One slice with a poached egg and sautéed mushrooms makes me feel like a foodie, not a dieter. And bacon makes everything better, so I can try it with almost any whole food.

Believe it or not, I think I just came up with my grocery list for this week! See you next week.

